Winter Warmer Broccoli and Cheddar Soup

Hey everyone, welcome back to my blog!

Now, I know what you’re thinking, “soup isn’t baking related!”, and I agree with you, it’s not, not even slightly. But I made this soup and I have to be honest, it was soo good I just had to share it with you lot! And yes, I know, it’s not Winter yet either. But put this in your bookmarks and in a month or two down the line you’ll have a perfect, quick, deliciously warming soup to make!

This came about basically because it was a wet, cold Swansea day and I needed something to warm me through and pick me up out of the rainy blues.

It’s super quick to make and only requires six ingredients (minus salt and pepper).

Just fry your onions and garlic, add your broccoli and stock, then blend up, add your cream and cheese, and there you have it! And I promise you it will warm you up in an instant.

I absolutely love to have my soup with some fresh crusty bread smothered in proper butter, and I have to dip! Soup and fresh bread has got to be one of my favourite comfort food and it has to be homemade. Come on, when it’s this quick and easy to make why would you buy tinned soup from a shop?

But anyway, before I bore you all by expressing my love for soup, lets get on with the recipe!

Broccoli and Cheddar Soup

Prep time: 10 minutes

Cook time: 20 minutes

Feeds: 5 good sized portions

Ingredients:

  • 1 large white onion
  • 2 cloves of garlic
  • I head of broccoli
  • 1.5 litres of veg stock prepared to packets instructions
  • 1 cup grated cheddar
  • 1/2 cup of double cream

Method:

  • In a deep saucepan fry your diced onion and garlic with a bit of oil until translucent
  • Chop your broccoli (minus the stem) into small chunks and fry with the onion and garlic for about five minutes to soften
  • Prepare your veg stock and add to the veg, bring to a boil and simmer for about 12 minutes or until broccoli is soft
  • Using a hand blender, blend until smooth
  • Add your cheese, cream and stir until evenly mixed
  • Season to taste

This soup will keep in an air tight container in a fridge for up to a week or freeze for up to three months and use straight away once defrosted.

I hope you enjoy your winter warmer soup! Let me know what you think in the comments!

Leave a comment